100 amp service

I am a newer inspector and have a question regarding electrical service. I inspected a home with a 100 amp service; however similar sized homes in the area have 200 amp service. The home is approximately 6,000 ft square. My question is, how will a home owner know if their electrical service is undersized?

I’m going to guess and say that a 6000 square foot home cannot be run in a code compliant manner off of a 100 amp service. The HO would need to find someone to do a load calculation to know for sure.

It is no question asked! I lost the program when my hard drive was damaged but I think you can still get it at InspectorPro website.
http://www.homeinspectorpro.com/

If you would like to play around you can find a free residential load calculator here:

http://www.mikeholt.com/freestuff.php?id=freegeneral

I talked to a local Electrical contractor who was just at a manufactures meeting .
They said that they expect to see more 100 amp installations and less 200 .
It seems more efficient equipment and a lots less loads in the homes could be in the near future .
You can see this with Lighting more insulation and better TVs, computers ect .
Time will tell

The only real way to know is to do the calculations. Obviously an electrician with years of experience can estimate the size fairly close but the only true way of determining the proper size of a service is through Article 220 calculations.

Great responses, thanks everybody.

Paul always likes to think we know all these Articles. :wink:

I think this is what he is talking about. http://www.ecmag.com/?fa=article&articleID=5737

If not, he can interject and correct. :slight_smile:

How old is the house? Salt Lake City may have an addendum to the NEC that states that all new homes must have a 200 amp service.

Jeff

3 watts per square foot and 2 small appliances and 1 laundry is all that is required. Using the optional calculation this house would only require a 62.5 amp service.