2 Mains

I inspected a rural home that had the main disconnect on a pole. It then supplied the main at the modular home exterior, and to the sub panel inside. Is this a problem? Should the second main be set up as a sub panel?

Pictures would help but as a rule, there is one service disconnect (main) and downstream are remote distribution panels (sub).

Like Larry said, it sounds like it, yes.

I am not an electrician, but I think it should be set up as two mains, same as a sub panel in a separate building, both need to be grounded to the neutral bus, the pole needs an earth ground, so does the home.

Second Disconnect is OK Grounds only at first location in a system .
Need to carry 4 wires from first disconnect to all equipment down stream .

How old is the home?

LOL…I most certainly will be watching this debate as I see many ways this thread can go wrong…lol

Things to consider…the term “modular”…can be applied to both a Manufactured Home and a Mobile Home. Once you determine which you are dealing with then the answer gets a little cleaner.

Good News is the term mobile home includes a manufactured home unless otherwise indicated in so far as the NEC looks at it.

So if you call it a mobile home and it meets the definition of such in 550.2 then you have no issue (as you describe it) with 550.32(A) as long as the panel on the mobile home is not service equipment. Now, we have to assume at this stage of the game the panel on the pole has an OCPD feeding the panel that is mounted on the mobile home…so technically it is a feeder to the mobile home and should be treated as a remote distribution panel and contain 4 conductors with grounded and grounding separation.