Deck support for spa tub

Do not get to many of these around here so any tips on how to figure proper support for a deck placed unit like in the pictures?
I have more if needed.
[ATTACH]

[/ATTACH]

Ignoring the railing…:slight_smile:

I can only compare to what I know here Bob… it lacks proper lateral bracing as well as the hardware that would attach the posts to both the concrete piers and the beam. We would use post to beam and post to footing/pier hardware, with the hardware being embedded into the pier/post footing.

Look at page 2 for Pad footing detail and knee brace detail… probably not too much different that your req’s. .pdf link

I would have installed blocking above the beam as well. Spa’s are heavy. Whomever built the deck may not have had the spa in mind.

Bob, one area of deck issues is the connection to the wall and the flashing of same but I’m sure you know that. As an Inspector I would not give specks because you will own it.

From what I can see from these 2 pics I’m sure you can find enough issues to recommend repair and further evaluation by a carpenter that specializes in deck construction.

My concern is not all the obvious deck issues as yes I am schooled on that stuff but on the extra support required as water weighs what about 10 lbs per gallon?
Anyway there is some extra support however as even in this pic you can see it on the right side underneath.
The extra posts mid way towards the home however are outside the Unit .
The posts have been strengthened which I can provide as a closeup and the posts end at middle straight in the earth.
The dark stain was from them BQing down there (even have a built in shelf.)
[ATTACH]

[/ATTACH]

I have 7 separate issues listed so far and have informed my client by phone that it may be above my skills to calculate this ,but will post my comments here for you guys once I can copy/paste off the final report as I need a PDF to do that in Java.
I am surprised no warm weather guys have responded so far.