Stab-lok panel

Hello,

I’m a new inspector, and I’m in the process of doing some mock inspections. I have found a FP Stablok panel on a new home built in 2009. Is this a major concern?

Thanks,

Ken

WARNING! You are not to remove this panel because it exposes the service area.
The authority having juristiction has not given the OK.
And they are dangerous according to most InterNachi Inspectors.
Even if they are in new condition they still have the same problems.
I do not like that the service portion is on the bottom also.

You have a Federal Pacific panel which is legal, but there is a possibility that the circuit breakers may not trip when shorted possibly causing an electrical hazard. Opinions by licensed electricians on this panel varies between safe and unsafe. I recommend you consult a licensed electrician for an opinion and correct if necessary.

Ken - I will assume you are in Canada as your profile is incomplete.

These are commonplace in Canada.

Kevin - can you explain your response? Why would an inspector remove the panel?

This is Federal Pioneer ! Been around for about 50 years I have used them , been around them , never seen a problem yet . If you are in doubt with any panel (regardless of brand) you should never remove the dead front . Now I have seen a Siemans blown apart . , have seen one with a breaker parted in two pieces . Any panel can be dangerous !

A new inspector should not remove the dead front cover.
Seasoned and trained in proper electrical schooling with proper safety equipment is OK on some panels and not OK on others.
This is part of the training process.:smiley:

Yes, I’m in Canada. I did not remove the Deadfront, would this be common pratice on this type of panel? It looks like the design of the breakers makes removing the Deadfront a bit of a problem as they extend over the Deadfront.

Thanks for all your help!

Ken

Correct

Still manufactured and approved in Canada .
I expect there is a difference from USA panels .