A couple of questions.

Hi everyone,

I’m new to this field, I took the online exam and failed with a score of 63, which I thought was pretty good for someone who doesn’t know anything about this. Mostly failed only because of my safety score and two other sections that could have used slight improvement.

Right now I’m studying all the available free courses, taking notes, making sure I can learn as much as possible. I’ve even gone so far as too look at a few of the member sites to get ideas on how much to charge for fee’s, what additional services to offer after getting certified in them.

One question I have, if I study and eventually pass the exam, gain membership etc. Is that all I need to be able to perform home inspections? Or would I need to obtain a licence in my home state?

My second question is how has this business been treating everyone? I have a family of four with a new baby on the way, so basically I’m wondering if I put the time and effort into this, is it worth it?

Five kids and no experience? Move on. Unless time is on your side and you have plenty of funds stashed to pay the bills. BTW, no one knows what your “home state” is.

If you have State License requirements in your state you must obtain one.

Nobody can tell you if it is worth it anymore than we can tell a home buyer if a property is worth what they are paying.

Any business starts slow and will grow according to how much time and effort you place towards it.

If you dream of riches you are looking at the wrong field as you will spend all your time doing HI and work weekends to achieve any $$$ you can live on.

Go into this only if you love it.

Exactly what Robert said. It must be your passion. It will take atleast 3 to 5 years to see a decent profit/living.

Please post what state you are from…
I was in your shoes last year, (4 kids and a baby on the way and just starting HI’s) There was no way I could expect to make a living my first year.