A Federal Pacific question

Hi Guys,

Saw this on an inspection done by my sub. No other photos other than what’s shown.

Not being an electrician by trade, I have two questions specific to a Federal Pacific breaker in a separate enclosure as shown. I have seen this a few times and write it with typical Federal Pacific language.

First question is what do I call this box, an enclosure, sub panel, or something else?

The second question, is this individual breaker a Stab Lok breaker and subject to the same Federal Pacific issues as the Stab Lok panels and breakers, or is this one something else, safety?

Just want to confirm what you guys write when you see this.

Technically, it’s both a Disconnect and a Sub-panel.
Does it serve a single appliance, such as a Water Heater, or an entire circuit?
IMO, if a single appliance, I consider it the Disconnect. If a cull circuit for multiple items, a Sub-panel.

As I don’t report defects due to “Brand Names” alone, I would defer it to an Electrician for full evaluation and repairs/replacement as deemed necessary by the Electrican… ONLY if I personally have observed conditions with the component that may be a safety issue or cause adverse conditions when in operation.

Note: I very rarely have seen issues with ANY disconnect beyond poor workmanship or degradation from old age, rust, critters, etc.

1 Like

I agree with what Jeffrey said, except for me, a few brands like FPE Stab-Lok trigger an automatic “defect” with me.
Your photo may not be a Stab-Lok since it does not have “Stab-Lok” on the label. Most of FPE panels are Stab-Lok design, but not all and the FPE boxes that are not Stab-Lok are not known to have a design problem. BTW, I pull those covers off to see if there is any mischief inside.

2 Likes

Thanks Jeff, report was modified for electrician evaluation, however, I do write FP Stab Lok panels by name, also Pushmatics when I run across them.

Lon:

Thanks, my understanding is consistent with your response.