Best way to gain experience

I am currently studying to get my Inspectors License, but I have no experience. I tried calling a few local inspectors and ask if I could possible shadow them for a couple inspections a week. They all said that wasn’t something they would be willing to do. If anyone could possible tell me some good ways to gain experience I would appreciate it.

Start doing them for friends and family. Ask them if you can come back during each section of class: elect, plumbing, hvac, roofing etc. you would get a variety of house ages and styles hopefully.

Mark is correct. Also, have your friends and family read the reports and give you feedback as if they were real consumers buying homes.

Also, host a mock inspection event of your own home. Invite local InterNACHI members to all inspect your home one morning and then meet up in your kitchen to share results. It is a fun learning experience for newbies and veterans alike. I will send out a snail mail invite to all your local fellow members for you, if you host such an event.

There are also some excellent books out there, that you can learn a lot from, lot of book stores on the web offer used ones too.

Here’s another thought, while some inspectors don’t want to help other competitors, try contacting someone outside of your area and let them know your qualifications and intent. Another suggestion would be to offer to buy them lunch; this will also give you more one on one time to ask questions.

You might also want to update your profile so we know where you’re from.

My definition of Experience is = “a whole bunch of mistakes”.

So spend more time here reading, take courses, ridealongs, and learn from others mistakes so that you don’t make the same ones.

And welcome to Inachi Message Board. ;):slight_smile:

Ben there is nothing and I mean nothing that will take place of getting out there and inspecting. Most people here are awesome technicians but you need to learn the other aspects of the business.