Commercial/Residential

I have been inspecting residential homes for a couple years. I just received a request to inspect what I would consider a commercial property. It consists of a 2200 sq.ft. shop/outbuilding and a 200 sq ft office. Open zoning allows for a multitude of uses. Diesel Storage on property. The buyer is particularly interested in the electrical/plumbing. Should I accept this inspection and if so, should I hire an electrician/plumber? I’m not sure my residential rates would cover subcontractors. Thoughts?

1 Like

If you have any confidence in your abilities at all, ABSOLUTELY!! These are the types of jobs that you need to break into Commercial properties.

Any idea what kind of shop it is/was? Top of my head, the only concern, but not enough to hire a Sparky, is if it has three-phase service. For this size facility, it is 50/50. Simply inspect what you can, take lots of pics, (can never take too many when learning), of everything else, and post your questions here for help.

Plumbing, should not be much different from Residential, except for specific Codes, and Fire Suppression (if any). Again… pics… pics… pics!!

Good luck!!

2 Likes

Ahhh No. let’s see:
Toilet carriers
Flushometer valves
Pulled copper fittings
No hub cast iron
Urinals and carriers
Multi fixture draining and venting
Trap primers
Continuous waste and vent
Three compartment sink
Commercial food grinder
Floor sinks
Drinking fountain or water coolers
Interceptors and separators
Hangers, don’t even get me started on hangers
Just to name a few

Do you want to talk about processed piping along with chillers?

Not the same !

There is a reason the IPC directs plumbing codes to chapter 25 to 33 of the Residential Code for one and two family dwellings that are not more than three stories.

1 Like

You can not use residential inspection standards for a commercial job. They are not at all the same and there is a separate standard to follow.

If people don’t live there, it’s not residential.