Common Mistakes made by new inspectors

Originally Posted By: gjohnson
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

I am looking for some examples of mistakes that are commonly made by new inspectors to the industry.

Gary (Snicker’s) Johnson - Free NACHOS

The NACHI Foundation

Executive Director

301-591-9895

Originally Posted By: kpapp

Well Gary, I am new to the industry and I would have to say that the biggest mistake that I made was thinking that this would be an easy profession. Boy was I wrong…I will say it is a learning experience everyday of the week for me and I enjoy the challenge…

If you dont have time to do it right the first time, When will you have the time to go back and fix it?

I agree Ken…

oh yeah i forgot to say, biggest mistakes.

one of them being not joining NACHI

I know someone will chime that one in somewhere,.

--
Gary (Snicker's) Johnson - Free NACHOS
The NACHI Foundation
Executive Director

301-591-9895

Originally Posted By: rwills

Gary, I think one mistake would be: Trying to answer or (BS), there way through a question posed by a client! It’s perfectly fine to say “Honestly, I don’t know, but I’ll look into that for you”!

Bob Wills - MAB Chairman

BW Inspection Services

Warminster, Pa.

http://www.bwinspections.com

Originally Posted By: jkiesecker

Gary, Remember who you work for. Your first obligation is to your customer. Be fair, impartial and honest. Avoid words or phrases like “holy crap” or “this is shot” icon_rolleyes.gif . Remember your customer wants to buy this house. Try to help them by prioritizing needed repairs for them. Avoid discussing anything with the seller. Use these message boards, valuable free information

J Kiesecker,

That is great advice... I use the boards everyday.. I am collecting this information for a paper that I am writing...

--
Gary (Snicker's) Johnson - Free NACHOS
The NACHI Foundation
Executive Director

301-591-9895

Originally Posted By: glittle1