Credibility

I looked back a few pages but missed it if this is an overly asked question…my apologies if I’m being redundant or in the wrong spot.

I am new to the home inspection arena, beginning the transition from a different career and trying to create a solid path of education and knowledge so that I will be taken seriously by potential employers and/or trainers.

My background includes 23 years in law enforcement including many years as a detective, patrol cop, compliance inspection back in my Coast Guard days and SWAT hostage negotiator. My experience also includes high level accident reconstruction and investigative experience and I have been court certified as an expert witness in several areas. My communication ability, report writing skills and evidence gathering (i.e. picture taking as it relates to this field) abilities are fairly well developed. I also have two college degrees and am very open and adaptive to training and education. Working with minimal to no supervision and meeting obligations are also not problems. I have basic building and systems knowledge and am physically fit to do the work.

My point in blabbering about my experience is to show what I hope are solid parallels between my current business and home inspections and that I’ve put serious thought into this transition (not how great I think I might be). I’ve obviously started InterNACHI online training but from what I have found so far, finding someone willing to take on a newcomer is a bit of a challenge.

I would greatly appreciate any guidance or recommendations anyone is willing to provide on how to successfully get into this business and align myself with quality people to become a solid, credible worker. I am currently in North Carolina but may possibly relocate back to Houston, TX for family reasons.