daughters new fridge

good day america’s finest…my daughter and hubby recently purchased used fridge which they had to transport for a sizable distance (aprox 150 miles or so) and i assume without asking that they hauled it home on the side. i remember in ‘the old days’ that a fridge layed on its side had to be set upright for quite awhile before turning it on. now, that i know all this inspector stuff (or some) im assuming that its probably due to the possibility of some liquid getting into the compressor. perhaps some quite knowledgeable person, in the area of refridgerators, can provide some details in this area…what will i tell my little girl?
mike in MN

I would recommend it be upright for 24 hrs before plugging in… but I’m no expert :wink:

I too am not an expert But I agree and 48 could be better .
That’s what I have done many times and also with Window air conditioners and it has worked OK for us.

24 hours, before plugging in, is recommended by most all (US) manufacturers, as stated in the users manuals.

It does not need a lot of time I have plugged them in, in less than 30 minutes all it needs is a little time for the oil to drain back into the compressor, oil is heavy does not take long to drain back.

Same as Charlie , done it many many times . 30 to 60 min.

I’m just thinking since it’s a used fridge and at least a 150 miles of travel, what’s the rush? (if it was mine, I wouldn’t wait too long… but since it’s someone else’s daughter…;-))

I agree with Charley, it works like an excetylene bottle. ha. ha.

My only question, Why, would anyone travel 150 miles and spend 100 dollars in fuel and spend time and money for eatery to buy a used refrigerator that can be purchaced for $400 + dollars?

I know they make them to a cost of $2,000 plus, was that the case?:slight_smile:

We can tell ya but will have to shoot you as soon as we tell ya:D;-)

Well, in that case, I won’t ask. :wink:

prolly best…

Sometimes my Logic supersedes me. ;):smiley:

indeed!