Define "Major" defect

Originally Posted By: Morgan Audetat
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

I have seen a lot of variation on this subject. Since you folks are the most open minded and diverse group I know.

Is major $1000.00 more or less?

Without a number, major is just an adjective.

Webster's Desk Dictionary defines major: "greater in size, extent or amount."

Very faithfully yours,

Morgan Audetat
Badger Home Inspection
Prior Lake, MN

Originally Posted By: jhagarty

Deleted

Joseph Hagarty

HouseMaster / Main Line, PA
joseph.hagarty@housemaster.com
www.householdinspector.com

Phone: 610-399-9864
Fax : 610-399-9865

HouseMaster. Home inspections. Done right.

Originally Posted By: jmyers

Hope this helps.

Joe Myers

Please instruct me further, though I have been in the trades for some time I am new to HI.

It seem to me that a GFI is a safety issue and could be defined further using the adjectives major or minor.

Further, if I went along with the statement: "Things that lead to major defects" I would be reminded of my then 86 year old grandmother who warned me that kissing leads to other things. e.g. A fart is not a small gas leak (LP or NG). Point is, many minor defects could become major as a kiss could lead to a little bit pregnant. But in the end you either are, or you are not.

I know that many of you belong to other organizations it would be nice to learn more about their definitions.

Perhaps most important to us as a whole is what the prospective home owner understands to be major. Do you define for them in your agreement or report what the true meaning is?

Still confused,

MA

Morgan,

I personally make it into a what is important issue, rather than a major or minor defect.