Do any inspectors have a brokers license as well?

Do any inspectors have a broker’s license as well? If so how does that sit with the other real estate agents? Is it a plus for business or a hindrance? I have been inspecting for almost 20 years and just finished the pre-licensing courses and was curious if anyone has had any experience with this type of situation. Thanks in advance for any insight.

1 Like

I have a real estate license. I’ve had it since 1986. I haven’t sold a house in years, but keep the license, mostly because, in Colorado, only agents or approved associates can have access to lockboxes and it is a convenience for agents who care about the rules to give me lockbox info. The cost of keeping it averages about $350 a year with required insurance and continuing ed costs. Many of the agents I work with don’t know I’m licensed. Once in a while, some agent will be suspicious until they work with me and find out that I have no interest in stealing their client. And some other agents like it because they think that it gives me understanding of the other side. Maybe it does since I was an active agent before I became an inspector 23 years ago, but frankly, I am so out of the real estate side, that I always refer people to the agents I think are good. I much prefer being a home inspector. We have a job where we never have to consider that this deal needs to close so we can make our own house payment.

5 Likes