Do I or Don't I

Gentlemen,
I’m new to home inspections, opening my busines back in September of this year - I’ve got 12 paid inspections under my belt to date. I’ve just experienced my first client that walked away from the purchase of a home after my inspection. The roof had really bad structural issues, and the house did not present well at all - Very dirty.
The client hired me without a referal from a real estate salesperson, and I had never met the real estate agent working on behalf of my client. As the story goes “If you kill a deal for a real estate agent, they’re never hire you for another inspection.” But since he didn’t refer me, would it be wise for me to contact him about future business? Is there a time frame I should wait before calling him? This couldn’t have happened at a worst time since I’m ramping up a new business Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Clive Peacock

LogoNew.jpg

Congrats on a good first few months in this economy!

If you are worried about what agents think you are setting yourself up to become one of their puppies. Make sure you have E&O insurance.

The home buying public is starting to get smarter and hire their own inspectors so wasting time marketing to agents is well, a waste of time.

Just had an agent tell me that her office used to have only 2 guys do all the inspections and now they are forbid to recommend them anymore. I’ll let you figure that one out.

Go ahead and contact the agent. You’ll probably be doing a second inspection for the same client in a few weeks when the find another house. Be professional. If the agent is a low life “used house salesman” they will never recommend you anyway if you are worth anything. If they are professional and interested in their clients best interest, your professionalism may impress them, and you’ll get future referrals. You got nothing to loose.