Dry rot question...

I’m brand new to world of HI’s and I was watching a Flip this house show last night and this poor kid bought a house without a inspection “first mistake among many” and the house had major dry rot damage. If he did hire a inspector would it be possible for a inspector to catch such a problem? According to the host who is a vetern flipper she states a inspector would of caught the dry rot problem and the plumbing problem as well. What’s your two cents on this?

Sincerely
Billy

First, there is no such thing as “dry rot”. All rot needs moisture (it"s a fungus). Without pictures to see what was found it would be impossible to guess if it would have been seen. There can always be unseen damage.

**Here’s a thread and excerpt definition from the California State Structural Pest Control Board:

http://www.pestboard.ca.gov/forms/brochures/geninfo.pdf

FUNGUS/DRY ROT **Moisture-induced infection
in wood which causes rot and reduces the
strength of the wood.

Evidently in the area where the show was filmed, it is required to replace the old plumbing pipes when major work is done.

A good inspector in that area would have made his client aware of the type of original plumbing pipes and the investor should know the requirements for remodeling houses in his area.

[size=2]Mr. Helm,[/size]

Please don’t take this wrong I just want to make sure I learn right and we are all on the same page. According to what I posted below dry rot does exist in homes and they even called it Dry rot during the show. The Dry rot problem became very expensive for the young man trying to flip the house plus the city inspector wouldn’t pass the construction inspection until the dry rot and the plumbing was fixed.

V/R
Billy
Dry rot

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search