Electrical test for a CO

A realtor asked me recently if I knew of a way to test or inspect an electrical system that wasn’t inspected before drywall. The house in question had a lot of work done by a previous owner/builder but permits weren’t finaled. Now the house lacks a certificate of occupancy. The realtor told me the AHJ inspector mentioned something with a name like “lab test” as a way to certify the electrical system without punching holes in walls. I told him I had no clue and to talk to an electrician. Has anyone here heard of anything like I’m describing.

Does this “lab test” have x-ray vision?

1 Like

Well, I do retroactive permitting consulting professionally…

But my expertise won’t travel beyond the four cities I work in. Each AHJ has their own rules and standards, and each field inspector has their own spin on things.

As an electrical engineer I know you can determine the unbroken length of a wire by sending a signal down it, and measuring the phase angle of the reflection at the end… but try and explain that to your average city inspector Joe.

1 Like

That was what I was thinking. I kinda got the feeling the inspector blowing smoke in a difficult situation.

(That’s specifically radar, but good luck getting useful wire routing out of it)

1 Like

I own a Walabot senor. It can not distinguish how cables enter junction and gang boxes to see if the cables are secures properly and if the conductors are terminate properly. I use a lighting circuit analyser for outlets. Extech CT70 AC Circuit Load Tester.
Selectable loads of 12, 15 and 20 Amps. Measures loaded and unloaded AC Line Voltage. Calculates and displays % Voltage Drop and Line Impedance. Displays Peak Line Voltage and Frequency.