Electrical Wiring / Florida Codes?

I came across this board and it caught my attention and hopefully I can get some good information. I’m a fellow inspector, just in a different field (bridge inspection). I’ve seen lots of wiring but more on an industrial side. I’m not too much familiar with home wiring. This question is regarding my own personal household.

My house was built in 1956. All the wiring is original, including the fuse box in the utility room. All the circuits are 20 amps. The dryer is on a 240v leg, stove is on its own fuses, and the hot water heater is on its own fuse. I don’t have pictures of this box as I forgot to get them when I opened it up.

Outside @ the meter there is a SquareD Qo box right next to the meter can. It’s a 200 amp main, with one 100 amp breaker on it. (Pics to follow).

This 100 amp main feeds the a/c unit in the attic. In the attic there is a small double breaker box where the power gets distributed.

Back to the outside SquareD box: Underneath the 200 amp main someone has ‘tapped’ into and ran 3 wires (240v) through the wall to the existing fuse box 100amp main fuses. From there power gets distributed.

I assume since the a/c was added years before we moved in (I’m guessing around 1994 since the a/c has the date stamped on it) that the SquareD box was added to accomodate the a/c unit.

Here’s a quick view of the box.
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y28/MightyHd/Picture004.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y28/MightyHd/Picture001.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y28/MightyHd/Picture003-1.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y28/MightyHd/Picture010.jpg