Electrician's Criticism Comes Back To Zap

Electrician’s Charged Criticism Comes Back to Zap Him

By Barry Stone
Saturday, December 23, 2006; Page F06

Q: DEAR BARRY: Some of your answers to electrical questions reveal that you are obviously unschooled. In one article, you talked about what home inspectors look for in a breaker panel, and your ideas were totally wrong.

Here are three examples:

1. You said that home inspectors report when circuits are over-fused. I am a licensed master electrician and have been in the trade for nearly 50 years, but I couldn’t tell from looking if a wire was over-fused.

2. You say that home inspectors check for improper grounding in a panel. How do they do this? Do you measure resistance to earth or simply make assumptions by viewing the wire ends?

3. You say that panels should not be used as “raceways.” In all my years in the trade, I have never seen an instance where someone wired a panel that way, nor can I think of any reason for doing so.

Perhaps you need to brush up on the National Electrical Code. – Nicholas

A: DEAR NICHOLAS: Let’s review your three points of disagreement regarding breaker panel inspections.

1. As a master electrician of 50 years, you say that you “couldn’t tell from looking if a wire was over-fused.” So let’s take a common example: How about a 12-gauge wire (rated at 20 amps) that is connected to a 50-amp circuit breaker? Would you not recognize that as “over-fused?” If that circuit were to have an overload of 40 amps, the breaker would not trip, and the result could be a house fire. Wouldn’t a home inspector be justified in disclosing that condition and recommending repair by a licensed electrician?