Electricity question. Is this worded correctly?

Hi all,
My name is Bob.
I am just now beginning my formal studies in home inspection.

I am working on “How to Perform Residential Electrical Inspections Course,” and I frequently refer to Black and Decker’s Complete Guide to Home Wiring for supplement and reference.

I am not yet 10% into the course and I came across some awkward wording (in the Black & Decker manual.)

It reads “After 1920, most American homes included receptacles that accepted polarized plugs. The two-slot polarized plug and receptacle was designed to keep hot current flowing along black or red wires and neutral current flowing along white or gray wires.”

As I said I am new at this but
I am confused about the idea of nuetrak current flowing.

It seems to me that
-all electrical current us “hot,”

• there is no such thing as “nuetral current,” and
  • the phrase “keep nuetral current flowing” is utter nonsense.

I think:
as long as nothing connects the hot side to the cold side, no current flows through the cold side at all. Is that thinking incorrect?
I’ve got a second question also, but, one at a time. :grin:

1 Like

The grounded neutral conductor is considered a current - carrying conductor , but only under the conditions specified in 310.15(B)(4).

310.15 ( B)(4)( a) applies to neutral conductors that carry the unbalanced current from all of the ungrounded circuit conductors of the system that are common to that neutral.

Google is your friend… :smile:

1 Like

Thanks,
Sooo, am I correct in thinking, there is no such thing as nuetral current?

I’m thinking the black, (or red) is always “hot.” It’s carrying a bunch of (metaphorically) “frustrated & hyperactive” electrons. They “frustrated & hyperactive” because they want to go home, but they’ve run out of road.

The white side is much like your finger or a ground wire.

There is no such thing as a neutral flow and the white side, in it’s normal state, contains no flows of any type.