Elimination of liquidated damages provision

I am a new inspector and new to InterNACHI. On the residential home inspection agreement that Internachi provides its members, in the limitation of liability and damages clause it states: If you wish to eliminate this liquidated damages provision, we are willing to perform the inspection for an increased fee of $___, payable in advance.

My question is is this something that’s required to be offered in most states? I could not find anything online stating that it was required or not required on the agreement. Basically I do not wish to offer this on my pre inspection agreement if I don’t have to.

How many of you have something similar in your agreements? Thank you for any info.

Care to share with us why?
Do you understand what is being stated here?
Do you understand the true cost of ‘Risk’ and how to mitigate it?

1 Like

Morning, Alex.
1: Welcome to InterNACHI.
2: Congratulations on becoming a Certified Professional Inspector at InterNACHI.

I feel you are misinterpreting the Legal clause.
Best to reach out to InterNACHI legal team or better yet retain Joe Ferry Claims Intercept. This would be solid advice seeing you are willing to open yourself and your company to needless liability.

A Limitation of Liability subject clause allows two or more parties ‘to attempt to ‘allocate risk.’ A process of identifying said risk and determining how and to what extent they should be shared’ rather than transferring said risks wholesale to parties who are unable to bear them.
It, the clause, if accepted, is multi pronged legal clause and can be immense in scope. You would need a professional team enumerating what risks are involved during every inspection and carry that risk for an predetermined amount of time.
For every structure, system and component of a residence you inspect, a: Parties can limit the amounts owed by one to the other, b: can limit the type of damages due, or c: can limit the type of claims that can be brought.