Estimates for repairs

How many Inspectors here include estimates for repairs in their reports? I am not asking because I am a contractor, Joe F. It seems like most realtors expect prices included in the report. Any feedback

Here in Nevada we are not allowed to provide cost, age or life expectancy. I think it’s a good idea. It keeps the liability down for us. If you say the repair costs $ to fix and they buy the house then it ends up costing $$$$ for repairs their lawyer may be calling.

Providing estimates for defects within home inspection reports is a South Florida thing which was started by FABI/ASHI… Besides, contractors are not the only people who are capable & comfortable providing estimates.

For instance… I’m a licensed Insurance Adjuster in the state of Florida who has been trained in estimating and is familiar with Xactimate. I provide guesstimates for defects within my home inspection reports when requested. :wink:

Thanks Joe.

I STAY AWAY from estimates for repair as much as possible, I only provide then as a courtesy when asked too and make them well aware of the meaning of the word ESTIMATE… Seen many friend get heat over this…

i see no choice in most cases

I am pretty sure it was you I e mailed regarding this.
I give estimates and on my estimates page, below the estimates is this:

no, i never got that but thanks. do you include estimates in every report? It seems like agents/buyers like it, might as well just throw it in, huh

Yes, I do give estimates and always have.

Added wit edit: It wasn’t you but someone with a similar name.

Im gonna start, too. I have always included it when they ask, but it seems like everyone is expecting it, so better to include it than be a pain in the *** about it.

thanks for your input