Feasible as a part-time biz?

Originally Posted By: Joe Skaggs
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

Hi to all the inspectors out there!

I'm thinking about HI as a part-time side business for myself, and I'm curious about others' experience. Has anybody on this board built their business starting from part-time? Here's how I see the pros and cons shaping up.

PROS

1) I keep my current job.
2) I can weather a slow start-up period.

CONS

1) More evening and weekend time spent starting the business.
2) Limited availability (evenings and weekends)
3) Being perceived as a "dabbler" (although I don't have to tell people I have a day job...)
4) Less available time to MARKET the new business.

I've got some experience managing a small business, and I've learned about the importance of good marketing. I think #2 can be turned into a bonus, but #4 is a bit sticky.

I'm hoping that somebody who started his (or her, for that matter) business on a part-time basis will be willing to speak up about their experiences, and maybe even be a sounding board.

Thanks in advance!
-Joe Skaggs

Originally Posted By: ismetaniuk

This membership was a big waste of my time!

Igor

Top To Bottom Inspections

Glen Spey, NY

ismetaniuk:

As a forensic engineer, I've investigated numerous failures and problems in homes, from water intrusion & mold damage, to pipe failures, structural failures, HVAC failures, and gas / electrical fire origin & cause. I've also got some experience in residential construction. Home inspections are a natural extension of what I do, except that I'm looking at broad areas for potential problems, rather than specific causes for a given problem.