Foundation inspection in socal

I did a Foundation Inspection and found these post and piers. This is my first time seeing this type pier that had a block installed while possibly wet. This is a house that was built in the 60s. I seen some typical verticle cracking in poured-in-place foundation walls.(typicle for SoCal)
Interior was probably remodeled in the 70s. The doors were closing fine and were not out of plumb, and did not see any cracks in the walls.
Question, would you still recommend further evaluation by foundation contractor?
Ps. I checked a few of the beams and were level or intolerance.

Short answer - yes

2 Likes

Write hard. Pier deterioration and undersized. I would recommend further evaluation.

3 Likes

Correct answer… NO!
You already did the evaluation and discovered (a) failing pier(s).
Call it out for REPAIRS to all piers exhibiting deterioration!!

6 Likes

But, I was trying to get along with saying “recommend” or “evaluate”. So, we are in agreement to call out defects? I like that.

Thanks for bring me back to my senses.

1 Like

I don’t open myself up to what repairs should be made. I pass that liability onto the next guy who further evaluates… :wink:

1 Like

And that’s what defines the difference between a Professional and a Hobbyist.
A Professional has no concern in stating that something needs repair or replacement.
A Hobbyist confuses that with thinking it means to instruct on HOW it should be repaired or replaced!

1 Like

I would agree

Now can’t we all just get along? :smile:

How about further evaluation AND repair by a really smart person.

5 Likes

I don’t do contracting any more.