fryable asbestos

asbestos in friable condition most of remaining insulation the same owner removed the rest himself

I’ve been involved with asbestos abatement, and because of all the training, I’ve become paranoid about it. I was working in one house, and a home owner argued 'sure it looks like asbestos, but it’s not the dangerous kind." I couldn’t let it alone, I had to ask what was the dangerous kind? “Blue” was the response.

:frowning:

I hope he didn’t breath real deeply with the satisfaction of a job well done. :wink: :stuck_out_tongue: :cool:

What type of oil did he use??? I like my chicken fried in Crisco!!! :stuck_out_tongue:

Ohhh…you must *mean friable *!!! :mrgreen:

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-friable-asbestos.htm

Jeff

I know crazy he just put it in a trash bag then out to the trash, we have a approved asbetos dump site here since john mansville used to mak it in this town

Dennis,

First I’m not a lawyer. Second, you might want to be careful what you put in writing.

tom

Jeff – That is funny.

Thomas – There is actually some significance in the response from the homeowner who said “it’s not the dangerous kind.??? What is not disputed is that there are indeed certain kinds of asbestos for which there are no known risks (other than the normal pneumoconiosis associated with breathing any kind of mineral dust).

Furthermore, it is fairly well accepted that the amphiboles (blue asbestoses) are much more carcinogenic and more directly attributable to pleural plaquing and asbestosis than are the chrysotiles (white asbestoses). There is considerable evidence that many of the chrysotiles may not even be significantly associated with either cancer or asbestosis. And there are some studies that sugest that virtually any material may cause mesothelioma on contact with the pleural or peritoneal mesothelium. Some of the studies on both sides are hotly disputed, with equal validity, depending on the risk models used.