Gaining experience

To give a little background, I am a culinary graduate and have been a chef for the past 20 years but I lost my spark and needed a new career change. I’m currently taking the courses and passing my exams but as I don’t have any experience nor do I know anything relative to home building I realized that as a woman with 0 knowledge that I’ll have to work harder than most. My question is how do I gain the hands on knowledge? I’ve reached out to a number of fellow NACHI members in my area asking if I could shadow them and haven’t gotten any responses. I’ve been looking online for inspection jobs but I honestly don’t feel like I’m ready for that yet. Not without some hands on training first.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

1 Like

Where are you located Kim?

Hello Kim. Welcome aboard. Larry will be along shortly to give some pointers.

1 Like

I live in Chester County Pennsylvania

Hi Kim, contact some CMIs or CPIs within 40 to 50 miles, or closer, to your area and communicate with them. Maybe one, or more, will help you. Some inspectors feel as though they are training their competition by ride-alongs or mentoring or hiring.

Here is the link for CMIs: Find a Certified Master Inspector®

And the link for CPIs: Find Certified Home Inspectors Near You - InterNACHI®

And Mentors: https://www.nachi.org/mentoring and https://www.nachi.org/my/mentoring

Also, you may want to take advantage of your Education Team at education@internachi.org for specific questions e.g. 15 Steps to Become a Successful Home Inspector - InterNACHI® and InterNACHI® Master Class for Home Inspectors .

P.S. Welcome to our forum. Enjoy!

4 Likes

Kim, many of us know how to cook, but don’t know how to Chef. Culinary is a process with end results as is constructing and building a home. Very similar in ingredients, components and how it’s done. If you look at it this way, you should do fine.

Here is a good basic article on the process of building a home.