Getting Started

Originally Posted By: bsmith3
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

Hi my name is Bill Smith and I am new to NACHI. I was wondering if I could get some advice on getting started in the Home Inspection Business. I have seen all kinds of different reporting forms,software,videos,brochures,business cards, websites, tools, faxes,toll free lines, CO detectors, Gas detectors,etc,etc… icon_question.gif

I realize that having all these things would be a great asset to a business, but I just can’t buy everything at once. I am just curious to what you, as inspectors have found to be the best and most beneficial to starting your businesses. I realize this type of question may get asked a lot but it would take weeks to go through all the posts in this forum.

Thanks, Bill

Originally Posted By: mkober

Hi Bill–welcome aboard!

The list of necessary equipment varies with the individual. I have heard of guys being successful with little more than a clipboard, pencil/paper, flashlight and screwdriver. At the other end of the spectrum is the very successful inspector who feels a thermal-imaging gun at $10,000 a pop is an absolutely necessary tool. I'm somewhere in the middle, but wouldn't think about performing an inspection without my combustion gas detector, circuit analyzer, carbon monoxide detector, moisture meter and infrared thermometer. And don't forget a healthy portion of common sense, along with some professional and general liability insurance. The trick is doing the best you can to educate your client while protecting yourself from the less-than scrupulous out there, all while trying to show a net profit.

--
Michael J. Kober, P.E. and H.I.

"NACHI Member and Proud Of It!"

Originally Posted By: bgentry

Hi Bill…welcome.