Got a text from a customer...

I just got a text from a customer I did a 4 point for a couple of months back asking me about their “Fire alarms” (I assume they mean smoke alarms) not working and why didn’t I alert them to this fact?.

Granted, I’m a newb inspector compared to most of you folks here. Maybe I missed something here but, testing smoke/CO alarms - as far as using the test button; is something I do regularly as part of a standard home Inspection and not a 4 - Point.

On a 4-Point I report only on the 4 major systems and smoke detectors attached to an alarm system isn’t part of it. Am I off the rails on this?

Their Insurance Co. is State Farm if I remember correctly. I used John Shishilla’s fillable .pdf on this inspection. Does State Farm have a form of their own that request this?

I haven’t spoke to the customer yet.

Any opinions/guidance or even correction on how I perform my 4-points is appreciated regarding this situation.

Thanks in advance.

State Farm form is almost like a full home inspection… it is ridiculous.

Nowhere on the State Farm form, or any other 4pt form that I know of, asks about smoke alarms. It’s not part of a 4pt insurance inspection.

99% of the time I have to re-inspect an older home to write up a “passable” 4-point.
In the original report I state if alarms have to be replaced or added (10 year battery on non-hardwired older homes).
Then I state on the 4-point that smoke alarms have been updated to today’s standards.

Who told you smoke and carbon monoxide detection isn’t part of the electrical system? Did the person who taught you this provide any information from an authoritative source reinforcing this notion?

Seems to me you are being provided inaccurate information about just what’s constitutes the “electrical system” of a structure. I would do some research on your own and review NFPA 70 & 72. Also,

I’m afraid to even ask about appliances……