Hello Everyone. New inspector - 1st post

Just wanted to introduce myself to everyone. I’m a licensed architect in California since 1974, now living in Palos Verdes, CA. I started my own business back then, originally doing residential work. I built the business up over the years…designed hospitals, public schools, fire stations, hired staff, etc, etc, and in 2004 I decided to start taking life a little easier. Sold the business and went back to residential work which I really love, and started to play golf for the first time in my life…which I love even more, (despite the 36 handicap!). So, now I’m working less and fortunately, enjoying life more.

I decided to supplement the architectural work with doing home inspections. I’ve alway enjoyed construction and the nuts and bolts of the business, crawling around house, trying to figure out what was built when and how, so it is a good addition. I’m still in the education stage…haven’t really launched yet. I’ve been really impressed with InterNACHI. I’ve done 8 home study courses and they’ve been really good. Planning to do more. Keith Swift has taken me on two ridealongs and he’s been a great resource. I’ve been enjoying reading your posts, and if I can help anyone with any architectural issues, please get in touch.

Hello Jeff, and welcome to InterNachi!!!

Welcome, Jeff. :slight_smile:

You started in 74 in PV.? Those were the years!! I started “house flipping” in Venice/Marina del Rey is 76. Buy, remodel, sell. Miss those years!! If only I had known, some of the houses I owned are now worth a million three plus. Hate to think of prices in PV!!

Good luck, you certaintly have the right background. anf Keith Swift is probably the top of the line person to learn from.

I also, am doing home inspections, to supplement my SS, and my rapidly decling 401k “non retirement” income. Besides, it gets me out of the house, the wife likes that!!

I envy your golf handicap, mine is the entire par of the course"!!

Best of luck