Hiring a Second Inspector?

Looking for advice on hiring a second inspector. I’m fairly new but did 250 inspections in my first year and on target for 350+ in my second year. I’m a former contractor with 20+ years of construction experience. I’m considering hiring a second inspector. I already have a good person in mind for this who has some industry experience. I am trying to figure out the pay scale and curious how other firms pay additional inspectors. How much are you paying additional inspectors? Do you give a percentage or bonus for that person bringing in new customers/realtors? Benefits? Company vehicle? Looking to be a small inspection firm with 2-6 inspections as we grow, not a big franchise.

1 Like

Ryan, others will chime in but consider asking your insurance agent(s). They are in the know much of the time. :smile:

1 Like

Try this: How to Start a Multi-Inspector Firm

2 Likes

Thanks, Ian, I forgot about that.

1 Like

Ian thanks for the info I will look into that.

1 Like

Happy to help!

Larry thanks that’s a good idea about asking the insurance company. I will do that.

Any time sir!

1 Like

Thank you for the links. It would help me too.

Quickoff topic question for you if you don’t mind. How were you able to successfully market your business? I am new to this field and I am struggling a little bit.