Home Energy Audit

Has anybody heard of Pro Energy Consultants?

I did an internet search and this link came up.

http://www.proenergyconsultants.com/

Why do you ask?

I may venture into the Energy Auditing Field and this company offers franschise opportunities. I wasn’t sure how reputable they were. I have 20+ years of HVAC experience and I’m looking into going into business for myself doing residential energy audits. I’m researching what schooling/certifications I would need to have in order to perform inpections.

If you add your location in your profile, others in your area may be better able to help you,

Done.

Thanks!!

There is plenty of information on the Department of Energy’s website to get the information you need to start doing energy audits. The are also plenty of retailers out there to get the equipment. Penn State has a weatherization course too. Personally, I wouldn’t pay anyone franchise fees for information that is readily available for free.

Pro Energy Consultants have not been in business for 13 years like they claim. they are long time franchise salesmen that are attempting to copy a successful business opportunity. The Real Energy auditing franchise opportunity is here… Energy Doctors

not real impressed with energydoctors… aren’t even an EnergyStar Partner.

That’s interesting… and sad; I believe they have been around since the 80’s or early 90’s. But look at some of their copy on the website:

“Our equipment (IR) allows us to** virtually see insidewalls and ceilings** …”.

Now, where have I heard this before? There’s embellishment (which may be a little, white fib) and then there’s over-embellishment which I call outright fraud and lies!!

From what I gather, everyone has learned how to run DIPLOMA MILLS from the HI industry…pump out “CERTIFIED EXPERTS” in a few days!!!

You can also become an expert auditor here . You don’t need to pay for that training and certification. Just buy an IR camera. Right Brian?