Home inspection license in both VA and MD question?

I am currently a home inspector in VA and was interested in getting my MD license. How does that work with taxes, and the business side of things. The license is as easy as filling out an application and sending in the fees. I just dont know if there are more steps to take, and what those steps are.

Hey Patrick not sure on the business side of things, but I know of a couple inspectors who had to attend training in person in Maryland to become licensed. May want to give Maryland DLLR a call just to confirm your training works for them. Good luck getting after it!

Along with what Daniel suggested, you may want to talk to your accountant/CPA for the other things.

Oh, and welcome back to our forum after two years, Patrick! Enjoy! :smile:

Patricia Schott
Executive Director
Commission of Real Estate Appraisers, Appraisal Management Companies and Home Inspectors
Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation
500 N. Calvert Street, #302
Baltimore, MD 21202
patricia.schott@maryland.gov
410-230-6165 (office)
410-333-6314 (fax)
\ 96x25 DLLR Website Facebook Twitter

1 Like

I just recently researched a similar situation for myself. I am a licensed Maryland Inspector and I am expanding to cover parts of Pennsylvania.

For Maryland, visit https://www.nachi.org/licensing-and-certification/us/maryland and/or https://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/reahi/reahireq.shtml for the requirements here. Basically, you have to attend in-person classroom training for 72 hours and you have to pass the National Home Inspectors Examination https://nationalhomeinspectorexam.org/. You also need a HS Diploma or Equivalent and furnish proof of having general liability insurance in the amount of at least $150,000.