Hot Doorbell

Hi guys,

At today’s inspection, I went to check the doorbell and had to pull my finger away from it. It was hot. I felt again and yes it was hot. I asked the realtor and homebuyer to touch it to make sure I was feeling what I thought I was feeling and yes , they agreed. Very hot. I took out my digital thermometer and sure enough the door bell registered 126 degrees. I have never run across this before. My guess is that it isn’t low voltage but line voltage but then again, what do I know, I’m a generalist not an electrician. Any ideas.

I would think this was a combination of sun and some have a small light inside so it is visable at night .
I expect if it was line voltage some one would have felt this before .
… Cookie

The doorbell is on the shady side of the home and I have never felt a doorbell with a light that was that hot to the touch. I have a door bell with a light and checked the temperature and it registered 95 degrees, a 31 degree difference.

Stronger Light could do this …Cookie

As a mater of protocol, next time in a situation you not want to ask someone else to touch something that may be improperly electrically hot. Being known as a deal killer is one thing but if get a reputation for killing realtors and clients… well I have to imagine that is worse.

Also you did not tell us…did the bell ring? If 120V 15A power was going through the solenoid I don’t think you get more than one bong out of it before it was cooked.

Paul,

Thanks for the heads up. I like that , “Being known as a deal killer is one thing but if get a reputation for killing realtors and clients…” I will keep that in mind. It did ring with no problem and it wasn’t cooked after I rang it. They also rang it with no problems. I guess it’s just an abnormality of that door bell. It rings hot.

This is just a speculation, but the age of the home may provide some clue…