I don't get it

Just got an email forwarded to me by a real estate agent who knows me for a few years. This email was from a home inspector, who advertised his Christmas special. I don’t want to publish the entire email here, but the content was like this:
Computerized home analysis:
up to 2000sq.ft - $189.99
up to 3000sq.ft - $249.99
Flexible schedule including evenings and holidays, free home maintenance book. Signed - certified home inspector, member of OAHI. This inspector works in GTA area. What I don’t get is how one can do inspection so cheap and stay in business? It sounds like this inspector is either very desperate for work or is a complete newbie. The only thing that he uses correctly is a power of 9. Interesting how many people will get hooked up with this cheap crap?:twisted:

Yuri,

It is people like that who prostitute themselves to the public that makes it hard for everyone doing legitimate inspections in a professional like manner.

Simply amazes me some of the prices I see here too…and associations don’t mean a thing…nachi and ashi folks are charging those prices or less.

Commercial work is the only answer I can come up with…screw the homes, simply ain’t worth it.

Exactly Dale!!

Yuri

You sound surprised my friend!

We can only control what we charge,but IMO we have an obligation to educate these “Lowballers” in terms of how much damage they are doing both to themselves and the industry.

I’m surprised, Mario. Because after 6 years in this business I know exactly how much is the cost of doing this business. I just feel pain for people being hooked up with cheap guys like this one.

Yuri,
You got it! Very desperate!
I am so glad that I read the thread, when I first saw that ** I DON"T GET IT** I thought there may be marital troubles we should not know about…:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Really though, when a person get a reputatipn as cheap, it is very hard to get a reputation as good. The conversation goes like this…