I think we need a better search system

Does anyone agree?

No matter how fresh the info you are looking for and even if you type the exact words you typed then, if you try to use the built in one it is damn near useless in my opinion. I know there’s some way to type it in google to get WAY BETTER results but why not just fix ours?

Ough Oh I Hope I am Not in Violation of “Our” Code of Ethics by the mere mention of an improvement…

It has nothing to do with InterNACHI and everything to do vBulletin, the software provider used for this msg board.

I used to be an admin on another (non-inspector related) board that used the same software, and it’s just a weak point of vBulletin. In fact, the other board when through a massive overhaul to the (then) latest and greatest version of vBulletin, and the search feature got worse.

But that fact is, the search feature is still pretty powerful if you know how to properly enter in what you’re looking for. Or just use google to search this board for you.

I’m almost always able to find answers to questions, even if the answers were post 10 years ago.

I never seem to remember the google way because I rarely search :slight_smile:

Yet, you made a thread about it.

Because I actually spent over 6 minutes minimum looking for a specific post I MADE so I would not piss off the forum Nazies for lazieness.

I found one similar from Pre 2009 but not the most recent.

Maybe it GOT H A C K E D …Da da daaaaaa. Who knows.

I agree, I would think Nick could just build a new forum from scratch.

I’ve been complaining about this for a long time… now I use Bing and search “nachi forum xyz blah, blah, whatever you are looking for”.

Then what are you bitchin’ about…Huh?

Nick never ever wanted “stickies” which would keep the repeated request to a minimum.
Stickies at the appointed forum head would would keep a lot of this down…
But, OH ! NO! Nick wants his hits up.

Thanks Dave.

M.B. Nick does not do that. But I guess you do not know that.