I want to move in USA from Canada as an Inspector

Hi everyone ! I’m an home inspector in Canada, Quebec and I do own my inspection firm. My wife and I were thinking about moving into USA. I would like to know if I would need more schooling/education to be an inspector up there. My english is not perfect but I made about 100 english inspections + english report in Quebec. What’s the market down there ? Do you think someone would hire me ? Should I scratch from zero and start my own busness up there ? Well thanks guy to let me know if Im beeing realistic or if I should not consider beeing an inspector in USA.

Sebastien

I always wonder what people are thinking when I read posts like this.

For starters, unless you are already a US citizen, somehow… you cannot just “come” and live in the US unless you wish to be undocumented illegal alien. You won’t be able to work in the inspection industry long without proper paper work.

4 Likes

First off… we are “Down Here”, not “Up There”!

3 Likes

Well I know all that. Imagine yourself If I had all the documents/visa/work permit and I was asking that question.

I’m looking for help, not for insults or opinions about my english skills, I said previously I’m not perfect.

2 Likes

If you are serious about it… start doing “your own research” on the topic. There are many posts about starting an inspection business from tools to marketing. USA is a very large place with many different markets for home inspectors. Your experience will vary greatly from that of others depending on the effort you put in. Like in most places, unless someone takes you under their wing and shows you the ropes and introduces you to people, etc… it will be very tough. It will take 3-5 years, if you do everything right, to start making “reasonable” money. You can be #1 inspector, technically speaking, but if nobody knows you nobody is going to call you. It takes a while to get your foot through the door.

5 Likes