Illinois Comercial Inspection Questions

I am an Illinois Licensed Home Inspector
I have a request for 2 commercial building inpections.

1. Quonset hut, 1 story, 2400 sqft, metal building, 1 story
  2. Concrete foundation block, 2800 sqft, 1 story, flat roof

The inspections are not for a real estate transaction. The are being performed for a family estate to determine what repairs and/or upgrades need to be done in the near future.

Are there any regulations that keep me from performing the inspections?

What is a common cost for this type of building inspections work?

Does anyone have an Inspections format they will be willing to share?

I appreciate any information. Orvil D Boyer

You are not required to be licensed for commercial inspections.
Charge what your time worth.
Too many variables as I am sure you do not bid blindly.

You need to grab a copy of the ASTM Standards and follow that. I would not use anything else. Price would depend on what’s all in the buildings.

Contact Dale Duffy. He does commercial all the time.

http://www.nspexarizona.com/

http://www.nacbi.com/messageboard/forumdisplay.php?26-ASTM-Standards&

www.nachi.org/comsop.htm is the only commercial SOP in existence.

ASTM’s (albeit titled an SOP) is NOT a commercial SOP at all. It’s just a copyrighted, elaborate Scope of Work permission form written back in the 70’s that they charge for each time you even reference it (which explains why no one publishes it for you to review). If you do get ahold of an illegal copy, you will discover it isn’t an SOP.

Anyway, your state of Illinois approved our commercial inspection course which is based on the International Standards of Practice for Inspecting Commercial Properties.

I just completed a 6000 sq. ft. commercial inspection in Chicago. !.5 hours on site and 1 hour on the report= $1500.

Did you inspect to Nachi COMSOP?

Nope.