I'm new to the Industry & looking for advice.

Hello, my name is Nate McKenna and I am currently trying to get my business up and running “All In” Certified Home Inspections. I have held numerous positions in the Log Home Industry over the past 15 years and have been very successful but welcomed a change with the down turn in the housing market.
I am looking for advice on what you as seasoned professional inspectors would suggest for start-up marketing and tool selections, trying to keep the budget to a minimum. I am looking to keep my service offerings simple in the beginning while I continue to educate myself on additional extra services.

Any insight is appreciated.

Nate McKenna

“All In” Certified Home Inspections
nate@allinproperties.net
www.allinproperties.net
Maine

Do I understand you to say that the down turn in the housing market led you to be a home inspector?

That is kind of like saying that the Surgeon General’s warning on the cigarette pack led me to smoke.

Welcome to the site.

To get back to the question asked, I would first start by seeing what other home inspectors in your area are doing. The home inspectors that have been around for a while have gone through some of the “what works and what doesn’t work”. When I started in this area the phone book was great (priced right also) and the websites wasn’t doing much. As time went on, the website became dominate and the phone book add went from a business card size to a one liner. Many home inspectors had business card size adds then and now only a few business side card adds are left (In my opinion, word of mouth is the best way to go. But that takes time especially in this economy.)