In need of bcam education

I am about to by my 1st thermo camera. I am a general contractor and have been studying some on the bcamsd series. I already understand the basics of building science, seeing as building from the footer to the ridge is what I do, but the Basic Building Science is the class that Flir is recommending me to take. I am wondering if the Level 1 class wouldn’t be better.
If I buy the new camera before 9/30 I get a free class. One or the other is allowed to be taken with the purchase.
Not wanting to waste the free class, I want to make sure that I choose the right one.
Wanting to know what the guys that have been through these classes think. I would appreciate any help you guys can give, thanks.

I would suggest doing the Level 1 course first. The course teaches all the basic info needed to understand the science. With your background and understanding of how a building works you may not need the Building Science course however more education is a good thing. Too many people are operating the cameras with little understanding of the pitfalls the you can run across trying to interprete the images.

Just my humble opinion

Jeff Moore
ITC Certified Level 1
Flir T400 user

http://www.infrared-certified.com/
I’ve watched John teach the course. Go here first. Students actually bring BCAMs to the course. Building science is taught here.

Take the Level I.

Kevin

If you are in the building industry and fully understand building science and how a building works, then Level 1 is the obvious choice.

Thanks guys, I was thinking of taking both but the cost is too high to recoupe in this area of Ohio. I think that I will be taking the Level I course first, and as many free internet classes that I can take too. Just getting started in this field I agree with Jeff, the more training the better.