Insurance adjustment work?

(Michael Kuehnl) #1

I’m just getting my business setup and off the ground and was approached by a friend who owns an insurance adjustment company with a business proposition. He currently only does auto claims but many of the insurance companies he does work for are really pushing him to get into the property claims. With my background in construction and now that I’m a licensed Home Inspector in my state (MD) – he thought it might be a mutually beneficial "pool’ to dip our feet into. He was thinking a 60/40 split on what he is paid for each property claim…

I know there is now an InterNACHI course to become a Licensed Insurance Adjuster for Florida (which I’m starting) – but I was wondering if anyone else does any insurance adjuster work?

(Stephen H. Payson) #2

Did homeowner’s insurance adjusting for several years back in the 90’s when my construction business got slow. Used Marshall & Swift/Boeckh software for estimating, depreciation, and replacement cost valuations. Always a fight with the homeowner because they would submit outrageously inflated estimates from contractors who were trying to cover deductibles and looking for kickbacks.

(Michael Kuehnl) #3

Thanks for the feedback Stephen… I have a lot more research to do on it for sure. I just figured it may not be a bad idea to make some extra $$$. Any little bit helps… But I can totally see what you’re talking about regarding fighting with the Home Owners and inflated estimates.

(Robert P. OBrien, GI2400026200) #4

If you are going to do insurance claims why split 60/40 . That’s subcontracting.find your own company to work for and get 100%. If InterNACHI is offer course ,I sure nick or Ben with help with contacts to get work from. Bob obrien

(Kevin L. Rose) #5