Is This a Defect In Need of Correction?

I tried to upload a photo, but all I see is the code above. Not sure if you can see the picture. If not, let me know how to post a photo.

I am a new inspector. I am completing the electrical inspection course, so I decided to inspect my own electric service panel in my home. I think there is a defect(s). The service panel is original to the home. The home was built in 1981 and I purchased the home in 1996. The electric service panel is manufactured by GE. Here is what I noticed and wondering if these are defects:

1. The main service disconnect is in the middle of the panel in the right-hand side of breakers. It is not at the top of the panel. There is no unique position at the top of the service panel for a main disconnect, so the main disconnect has to be positioned either on the left or right bank of breakers. In my service panel, it is on the right, just below a 30 amp breaker for the dryer. Is this o.k. for the main disconnect position?

2. The main service disconnect is 40 amps. I have not had problems tripping any breakers and I have lived in the home for 25 years. I am not a heavy electricity user. Is 40 amps o.k.?

3. There is a 20-amp breaker installed at the bottom of the left hand column of breakers. I noticed that all the 20 amp breakers are on the lower-right column of breakers. The lower-left column of breakers is all 15 amp except for this one 20 amp breaker. The 20 amp breaker is a GE breaker, but it is definitely larger in size and looks different than all the other 20 amp breakers. Is there any problem with this? Again, I am not having a problem tripping any breakers. It is just that this 20 amp breaker looks different than the other 20 amp breakers because of its size and that it is in the left column of breakers that are all 15 amp.

Thanks for helping a new inspector!

I see the photo did display. Yeah!

Are you sure that is the main? If you flip it, do all of your lights go out?

1 Like