It’s Almost Like A Crash

The St Petersburg Times reports from Florida. “Liz Seither deftly juggles the two phones that never stop ringing in her kitchen. The Clearwater Realtor’s eyes are puffy below unkempt flaming orange hair. Seither invested in expensive Clearwater waterfront property at the peak of the recent boom. Lenders are after her for millions of dollars in debts.”

“After juggling 15 calls from debtors, creditors and clients, Seither lays the phones aside and delivers a pep talk to herself. ‘I’m not a real estate bum,’ the president of Executive Preferred Properties announces. ‘I wear diamonds, Rolexes and necklaces. I’m a classy Realtor.’”

The whole story.

There are people who know what they are doing and there are dumb speculators. Guess which one the abovementioned woman is?

I know the glut of rental condos has kicked the stuffing out of my rental apartment buildings’ cash-flow. OTHO, I’m not losing money, and some of the condos being rented in my area by flippers and “investors” for $1200-1500/mo are incurring $4000+ monthly holding costs… with new projects coming on-line every month.

Eventually, that’s likely going to get very, very ugly.