Jeff Barnes keeps his competitors from getting a license in Kansas.

Janelle Bell

to Nick

show details 2:12 PM (9 minutes ago)

Please post this for me:

I am a new inspector in the State of Kansas. The Kansas Home Inspectors Registration Board is denying any inspector not in business after July 2007 to become registered because inspectors have not had board approved training. Inspectors cannot attend their approved training because the board does not have any schools that have applied to the board for approval. I personally took a Home Inspector Course online from a Nationally Accredited school and the board is refusing to accept their cirriculum or any other online or correspondence training. I even exceeded the required 80 hours as my course was 140 hours. I still had to hand in a completed inspection for a grade before I could pass the course. I do not feel they can restrict those of us with unapproved training from becoming registered as they cannot enforce that portion of the law. Regardless, we won’t be on the “registered inspector” list even though we probrably have the same amount of trainig that an inspector that has been in business prior to July 2007 has taken. Realtors will be reluctant to use our services for fear they will be in trouble with state law and we know this isn’t the case. Jeff Barnes, President of the Registration Board told me that I could still inspect but just to give realtors a copy of the provision stating that the board cannot enforce the training section of the law and ask the realtor to continue using my services. I am thinking if it were me I would still use a “registered” inspector. This is going to put an end to my inspecting homes just because I cannot comply with “approved training” as realtors will fear using me. My question is, is there any legal recourse that you would know of to help inspectors like myself fight the Boards decision not to register us since they cannot enforce that section of the law? I did everything els