Labeling pictures (first inspection continued)

For those that are interested, I am a new inspector about to take state exam. before I do, I want to do a complete inspection of the current property I’m renting, to help get a feel and remember requirements. If you’re not interested or only want non-constructive criticism then please go to a different post!!

Today I inspected the furnace, took pictures, then edited them at my computer.

How long should I be spending editing pictures? I posted them on the web at

https://bestpropertytulsa.wixsite.com/test

Just these pictures took around 40 minutes to download and edit in the comments.

1. do you think its better to not edit photos themselves because it is time consuming, just include them in the relevant sections?

2. Do you see anything I missed? or am I even being too picky? the furnace functions normally for medium efficiency furnace and I could not see the heat exchanger very good.

Keep in mind, we do not rely on photo’s to narrate. Your defect narrative must stand on it’s own without a photo. Photos are for illustrative purposes only as a courtesy.

I may put in an arrow or two, but all that writing is not my style nor do I have the time. That will be up to you. (the report writing software you choose will make labeling photos easier if you continue with that)

So was it a class B vent or a single wall? You called out two different clearance tolerances.

3 Likes

There were two types of vents… Coming straight from the unit and curving was a single wall galvanized vent, connecting to a normal B-vent, its hard to see with the picture but there are both

1 Like