License number needed?

Hello all,
I’m pretty brand new to the field of home inspections and particularly new to internachi. I actually have two questions if anyone has the time to share their experience and/or knowledge. I’m from Texas, so I’m unable to get licensed through internachi, however, there are a ton of CE courses approved by TREC. First question is, does it matter if I proceed with taking CE courses right now if I’m not yet licensed? My financial situation doesn’t exactly allow me to jump into a school like “Champions” right now (or any other TREC approved schools) so I thought for now, I’d gain as much knowledge as possible by taking as many CE courses that I can. One of the first videos I’ve seen when trying to start a course is walking me through the process of entering my state license # (which I obviously do not have). My concern is not getting the TREC credit I’ve earned because I dont yet have a license. Second question is the path to take. I’ve seen the extensive list for TREC approved courses within internachi, and I’m curious if it matters in which order I should take these courses or if going straight from top to bottom would suffice?
TIA

Welcome Stanley!

Someone from TX, familiar w/TREC, will chime in soon.

2 Likes

Thank you Larry!
Looking forward to it.

CE courses are “Continuing Education” courses, and NOT Primary Education courses.
CE’s do not apply until you are licensed and performing your “re-education” to stay knowledgeable and up to date on industry topics, so you are able to Renew your License.

With that being said, you should take all the education you can muster to learn the trade, whether you get credits or not! It can only better you as a (potential) inspector in preparation for your licensing education.

Question: if you cannot afford your required education, how do you expect to obtain all the other requirements such as insurance, and all else required to operate a business??

5 Likes