Licesing in Delaware

**Delaware is grandfathering existing home Inspector for a license **

Delaware Begins Home Inspector Licensing

Tuesday, August 6th, 2013
Amanda McAtee
Administrative Specialist II
Delaware Department of State
Division of Professional Regulation
Phone: (302) 744-4500
Fax: (302) 739-2711
This letter is to inform you that on August 6, 2013, the State of Delaware will begin requiring home inspectors practicing in Delaware to obtain professional licenses. Please note that a person already performing home inspections as of August 6, 2013 will have until November 4, 2013 to become licensed.
If you have completed at least 250 home inspections in Delaware before August 6, 2013 or you have at least five years’ experience performing home inspections for compensation before August 6, 2013 then you qualify for licensure under the grandfather provision. Please keep in mind that you must submit your application by November 4, 2013 in order to be considered for licensure under the grandfather provision. If you do not submit your application by November 4, 2013 or if you do not qualify for the grandfather provision, you must apply by endorsement or register as a Delaware Home Inspector Trainee.
Please note that under the newly enacted licensing law, home inspectors are prohibited from offering opinions of value in Delaware, and applicants or their employers, must have liability and errors and omissions insurance. Under Board Rules and Regulations, an individual home inspector or their employer must carry at least $50,000 of errors and omissions insurance and at least $250,000 of liability insurance. As part of the application process, proof of insurance must be sent to the Board office directly from the insurance carrier.
License applications can currently be accessed by visiting]( and selecting “Home Inspectors” from the “Board & Commissions” menu located in the center of the page. From there, select “Forms” under the “Licensure Requirements” menu on the left hand side of the page. The Board of Home Inspector’s website will have several updates during the next few months as the Board’s License Law (24 Del. C. 4100, et. seq.) is updated and the Board’s Rules and Regulations are published on August 1, 2013.
Please feel free to share this letter with any colleagues that you believe may be interested in this information. If you have any questions please contact customer service at (302) 744-4500 or email
Kind Regards,
Amanda McAtee, Administrative Specialist II
For the Delaware Board of Home Inspectors