Looking for Info on home inspector career

Originally Posted By: Carmine Benedetti
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

Hello,

was hoping to get some insight on the home inspection industry.

My wife has recently started a career in real estate and I have recently ended a brief part time career with UPS, wanted to drive, but do to a childhood injury, went into management(supervision), which after a year plus, found it was not for me.

Currently I am a struggling small retail business owner and have been in this industry for more then 20 years. Family business the first 17, since my own. Time for a change.

I have talked to a local inspector, who has been very helpful, and we are trying to get together for lunch and talk some more.

Questions I have are:

what kind of background should you have to go in this field?

what kind of educational background?

liability after the inspection, who does it fall on?

There is a school down here in FLorida called IFREC, where i got the address for this site, is the class they offer, http://www.ifrec.com/courses/inspection.htm
something I need to take to get started?

All and any other information would be greatly appreciated.
thank you for your time, Carmine Benedetti

Thanks for the reply.

As far as a ‘real school’ do you mean somehwere else accredited for the home inspecton industry or a real school such as college?

I am also in the process of finishing up my Associates degree, with a business emphasis, but I rather not be the corporate, tie wearing type.

Originally Posted By: gbell

Hello Carmine,

Welcome to NACHI. This message board has a lot of useful information for anyone looking to get into this profession.

Look at the course outline for the school you are inquiring about. Then look at the outline of a real school.

http://www.home-inspect.com/

http://inspectiondepot.com/