Mainly for Texas Inspectors

Here are my personal notes from today’s TREC Inspectors Committee meeting. My 3rd comment in Section 10 is kind of interesting. :slight_smile:

Michael,
What are your thoughts on mandatory E&O coverage for inspectors? I am new to the industry and have been pricing E&O; needless to say, it is very expensive for an inspector with less than a year of HI experience. I’m sure I’m not the only one out there that has to get some inspections ($) under my belt before I can afford E&O, and pray that I don’t find myself in court before I can afford coverage…:frowning:

Billy, it’s the classic affordability issue we all face. My only concern is that TREC might someday require all Texas HI’s to carry E&O. I feel that it should be a business decision of each HI to decide whether or not to carry E&O. If one were to decide to carry it I feel the Towers Perrin/AIG plans thru NACHI are certainly worth looking into. Also, do a Search here on the bulletin board for E&O posts and you will get a broad opinion.

Out of curiosity, do a majority of Texas HIs carry E&O to your knowledge? I spoke with a seasoned HI here in Houston a while back and he said he would not carry it for the simple fact that he felt it placed a target on his back for lawsuits. Makes a little bit of sense; I would assume that a lawyer would be more apt to pursue a case against someone who carries E&O since he is more likely to be able to secure monetary damages for his client (meaning big dollars, not like garnishing my measly wages)…

Billy, I’m not sure, but I suspect only 25% or so carry E&O.

Bump

Hi Mike,

Thanks for your work and the update! We do greatly appreciate that!!

Yes that was an interesting note in item 10. That is what NACHI needs to continue doing, step up to the plate and lead the way.

I would be iterested in knowing what Ms. Ahmad was opposed to in the new SOP?

Manny,