Making it your own

New inspector here. Got my top 3 choices for software. Curious as to how much time you spent learning, tweaking and making HIP your own.

I have been using HIP for a little over two years now and I am always tweaking it to specifically fit the inspection I am reporting on. The bones of the reports stay the same but the small differences get changed to make the report specific to the house.
With that said I would not change to another software program. I love my software.
Good luck.

It’s like a website… never ending to keep it the best product available for your client as it is a direct reflection of you and your company!!

Note: This should apply to ALL software, not just HIP, and a strong argument against certain ‘subscriber’ software’s that have minimal or no customization allowed. Never understood why everyone is content with being the same as everyone else!!

1 Like

Right. I understand it’s a constant learning and everybody’s different but guess I was wondering how long it would take for someone to be ready to walk out the door to start an inspection. I want my reports to look clean, finished and very professional when I get done. And if someone is coming from a different software to a new one they kind of know where to look for components, narratives etc. I’m about as green as new grass.

I guess the next question would be… What is your intended method/format of preparing the Report?
In the field?
Back at the office?

Susan - This will be an ongoing process. Save the comments you are making and what would apply to your area for future use(s). The more time invested in the background and as used, will pay dividends in the long run. And if it means anything, I have only done about 350 reports or so, but I am still tweaking it to make it better. I personally went with Homeguage, but they are both good systems. Just know that once you start, it will be a deal killer to swap, so get comfy with it and use it for what it can do for you.