Mentorship - Commercial Inspections Calgary AB

Hello Everyone,

My name is Tersoo Andrew and I joined this forum a few years ago. As a firm, we are currently looking towards launching the Commercial Inspections side of the business, starting 2022. I have inspected a number of residential buildings and now looking towards inspecting Commercial property as well. I have participated in a number of Building condition assessments around the Calgary Metropolitan area but will need guidance to win jobs and generally start up. I am reaching out to members of this forum to see if anyone is open to mentoring me especially if you are in the Calgary area. I studied Architecture at University and still in the process of being fully licensed Architect. If there is someone who is open to a ride along trip with me or willing to guide me through this transition - Please let me know if this is possible as this will assist me in ensuring that the transition is an absolute success.

Thank you so much in advance.

Tersoo Andrew Ityavyar
TD Inspections
Calgary AB
(587) 349 0902

“Commercial Inspections” is REALLY broad - are you talking a 600sf strip mall slip, an apartment building or a high-rise? I’m mainly residential but have done a lot of multi-family and some, what I’d call, light commercial - maybe something like an 8000sf restaurant.

The thing with commercial that is funny is that each building is typically setup for such a specific use (restaurant, autobody repair, medical, etc.) and you definitely need to disclaim all the specialized equipment. Usually, on triple-net leases the equipment isn’t part of it anyway but you need to be extra clear with clients as to what you are inspecting and what you are not.

Once the scope of the inspection is figured out I’ve found the inspections on commercial buildings to actually be pretty easy and more profitable. It’s a lot of same systems but usually with variations on what you’ll find in a house.