National Certification

Every one day seminar I attend cost me over $1000, including lost revenue and seminar related expenses.
As a Canadian Inspector I think that national certificate is an extra tool I need to market myself in a very competitive urban market.
I think $1000 every five years - that is about $200 per year - is OK.
So I sent my National Certification application today.

Nalliah Thayabharan
Expert Building Inspections Ltd
Markham ON

Are you thinking out loud or are you just informing us of your intentions?

Either way good for you. Bill is passing out Hero Certificates to people like you.

Thats nice, … I fail to see how this certification will provide the tool you need in a very competitive urban market. Ontario already has a self regulating body that if managed properly surpasses the National Certification. But even that is folly because no one knows of OAHI let alone the National. CMHC is backing away from recommending one association. I can’t remember the last time I was asked about my affiliations and I have been inspecting since 1991. No body is able to provide proper answers let alone give complete details, nor willing to be held accountable for erroneous information that has been distributed So much for professionalism from a so called self regulatory body.

Of course thats just my opinion. :wink: Licencing is required to get rid of the rot that has taken hold by special self centred interests.

[quote=rwand1]
CMHC is backing away from recommending one association. quote]

Raymond, please learn to read before you spew your nonsense.

CMHC has never in the past and never will recommend only one association. Your recent messages to the leaders of CMHC at least provided some humour to their days. CMHC recently endorsed the CAHPI National Certification and they continue to do so. They did not endorse or recommend CAHPI, but they are endorsing the program and recommending people who are National Certificate Holders.